You are here... Home : Qualifications : Higher Education

Higher Education

Higher education qualifications in forestry and urban forestry

Higher Education (HE) generally means University level education, so those undertaking HE qualifications are typically 18+. Qualifications at this level have a strong theoretical component that provides students with the underpinning knowledge to work as a professional within their selected sector. There are a range of qualifications at this level ranging from Higher National Diplomas and Foundation Degrees through to Master and Doctorate Degrees.

Qualifications at Level 4 – Certificate in Higher Education

Level 4 qualifications are provided by higher education providers on a one year full time or two year part time pathway. Entry requirements are typically a level 3 qualification (preferably in a related subject) but some providers will accept applications from mature students who demonstrate a wealth of experience from within the industry.

Forestry & Urban Forestry Qualifications at Level 4

Qualifications at Level 5 – Diploma in Higher Education, Foundation Degree (FDsc) & Higher National Diploma (HND)

Level 5 qualifications are provided by higher education providers, often for students working to gain higher level qualifications while also in employment. Courses can be delivered both part-time and full time and can range from 2 – 4 years in duration. Level 5 qualifications often include practical work based skills and/or work placements to prepare you for work. The foundation degrees meet the same standards as an honours degree so a one year top-up option is typically available.

Formal qualifications are not always required if the candidate can demonstrate a level of experience or knowledge that shows a desire/ability to achieve. However, level 3 or 4 qualifications are advantageous especially if they are in a related subject.

Qualifications at Level 6 – Bachelor’s Degree (BSc or BA), Graduate Certificate & Graduate Diploma 

Qualifications at level 6 are offered both part-time and full-time and typically run over three four or five years. Qualifications at level 6 focus on specialist areas of knowledge for a specific sector of employment. Level 6 qualifications follow a theoretical pathway but may include some practical learning opportunities.

Entry requirements for level 6 qualifications vary across courses and institutions. Universities have basic entry requirements and then may have further requirements for individual courses. Most Universities provide their entry requirements on the UCAS website or in their prospectus so anyone wishing to apply should check their.

Qualifications at Level 7 – Master’s Degree, Post Graduate Certificate & Post Graduate Diploma

Post graduate qualifications are designed to provide learners with a highly developed and complex understanding of a selected subject. On completion of a level 6 qualification learners should have the knowledge and skills to solve complicated problems. Learning at this level is predominantly theoretical and requires learners to have strong research skills and a proven ability to achieve in a high level academic environment.

Entry requirements for level 7 qualifications vary across courses and institutions. Universities can set their own entry requirements so it is best to check the UCAS  website or the University’s own prospectus.

Qualifications at Level 8 – Doctorates

Level 8 qualifications are achieved by those who wish to demonstrate that they have the knowledge and expertise to be recognised as a leading experts within their selected subject. Learners will be expected to carry out high level research using theirs skills, knowledge and experience to gain a clearer or more developed understanding of knowledge or professional practices from the sector of the learner’s research.